5 Things I Actually Learned In High School

Thought Catalog

Perks Of Being A WallflowerPerks Of Being A Wallflower

Quoted as “The Best 4 Years of Your Life”, high school leaves an undeniable impression on the person you are and have become. Granted, I appreciate that I can list the general functions of a cell and recite the Pythagorean Theorem from memory, but what really resonates with me as I continue my post-grad life isn’t theorems and equations. These lessons that I’ve had the misfortune to learn were not taught through teachers nor textbooks, but by the pure experience of adolescence:

1. You Are Not a Number. (GPA, SAT, Exam Score)

Throughout mostly my Junior to Senior Year, the realization that GPA is important in the college application process hit me like a fucking truck going 80 mph. But once I graduated and started my college career, another realization hit me at the same speed. My boyfriend didn’t care what my class ranking…

View original post 378 more words

Leave a Reply

